Roth Lab - Members

Members List

*(color) Denotes a member of the PDSP - Psychoactive Drug Screening Program
Current Members Alumni Collaborators Post-Docs Visiting Scientists

Current Members

  • avatar
    Bryan Roth

    Title: Big Kahuna
    Email: bryan_roth@med.unc.edu

  • avatar
    Daniel Wacker

    Title: Research Associate
    Email: dwacker@email.unc.edu

  • avatar
    Darnell Collins

    Title: Computer Programmer
    Email: burger@unc.edu
    Hometown: Stafford, VA
    Research: Linux, PHP, Ansible
    Future Research: Vue, Golang
    Other Interests: Basketball, Burgers, Role Playing Games

  • avatar
    David Nichols

    Title: Wizard
    Email: drdave@purdue.edu

  • avatar
    Estela Lopez

    Title: Applications Analyst
    Email: EstelaLopez@unc.edu
    Hometown: Mexico City, Mexico

  • avatar
    Hye Jin Kang

    Title: Post-Doc Research Associate
    Email: hyejin@email.unc.edu

  • avatar
    John McCorvy

    Title: Research Associate
    Email: jmccorvy@email.unc.edu

  • avatar
    Justin English

    Title: Research Associate
    Email: jgenglis@email.unc.edu

  • avatar
    Kate Lansu

    Title: Graduate Student
    Email: lansu@email.unc.edu

  • avatar
    Reid Olsen

    Title: Graduate Student
    Email: olsenr@email.unc.edu

  • noavatar
    Rodger Zou

    Title: Research Technician
    Email: rzou@email.unc.edu
    Hometown: Chapel Hill
    Other Interests: Hobbies include learning to draw and code, drafting, 3D modeling, reading and board/video games.

  • avatar
    Ryan Pileski

    Title: PDSP Binder
    Email: rpileski@email.unc.edu
    Hometown: Morrisville NC
    Research: I'm not sure if it counts, but I published on the NC Museum of Natural Sciences Your Wild Life on my project in Undergrad called Ant Picnic
    Other Interests: running and rock climbing

  • avatar
    Ryan Strachan

    Title: Research Assistant Professor
    Email: rstracha@email.unc.edu
    Hometown: Akron, OH
    Research: Regulation of the 5HT2A receptor

  • avatar
    Sandy Hufeisen

    Title: Senior Research Specialist
    Email: sandy.hufeisen@unc.edu

  • avatar
    Sheng Wang

    Title: Research Associate
    Email: shengunc@email.unc.edu
    Hometown: AnHui, China
    Research: Chemical Biology; My primary research goals are applied ideas from chemistry to biological research.
    Other Interests: Running; Billiard; Travel.

  • avatar
    Tao Che

    Title: Post-Doc Research Associate
    Email: taoche@email.unc.edu

  • avatar
    Thomas Mangano

    Title: Research Technician
    Email: tmangano@email.unc.edu

  • avatar
    Wes Kroeze

    Title: Research Assistant Professor
    Email: kroeze@email.unc.edu

  • avatar
    Xi-Ping Huang

    Title: Assistant Scientific Director
    Email: xphuang@email.unc.edu
    Hometown: Jiangsu province, PR China
    Research: GPCR signaling and alosteric regulation of GPCRs


Alumni

  • avatar
    Anushree Bhatnagar

    Title: PhD: Lead, Quality-Biologics Hospira, Inc
    Email: axbsxb96@gmail.com
    Hometown: New Delhi, India

  • avatar
    Atheir Abbas

    Title: Postdoctoral Fellow and Assistant in Clinical Psychiatry, Columbia University Medical Center/New York State Psychiatric Institute
    Email: aia2114@cumc.columbia.edu

  • avatar
    Dan Urban

    Title: PhD: Postdoctoral Fellow, Dr. Caron Lab, Duke University
    Email: daniel.urban@duke.edu

  • avatar
    Doug Sheffler

    Title: PhD: Assistant Professor, Burnam Institute, San Diego, CA
    Email: dsheffler@sanfordburnham.org
    Hometown: Ligonier, Pennsylvania
    Research: In Bryan Roth's lab, my graduate work has focused on the regulation of signaling of the 5-hydroxytryptamine 2A (5-HT2A) receptor. Specifically, I have characterized a novel interaction between the third intracellular (i3) loop of the 5-HT2A receptor and a member of the mitogen-activated protein kinase family, RSK2. This interaction has been found to have profound effects on 5-HT2A receptor signaling.
    Future Research: My interests are in the complex regulation of G-protein coupled receptors (GPCRs): GPCR signal transduction, ligand binding, receptor desensitization, and the processes of GPCR internalization and down-regulation.I have a specific interest in the pharmacology of GPCRs, but I am also interested in the mechanisms of signal transduction in general.
    Other Interests: I recently was married to Allison Limpert, another fifth year graduate student in the Neurosciences department, and had a lovely honeymoon on the islands of Maui and Hawaii in Hawaii.When I'm not in the lab, I'm spending time with my lovely wife and our cat Scout.

  • avatar
    Feng Yan

    Title: PhD: Postdoctoral Fellow, Ben Major Lab UNC
    Email: fyan@unc.edu

  • avatar
    John Gray

    Title: MD, PhD: Assistant Professor Center for Neuroscience UC Davis Medical School
    Email: jgray@lppi.ucsf.edu
    Hometown: Newark, Ohio

  • avatar
    Kate White

    Title: Graduate Student
    Email: whitekl@email.unc.eu

  • avatar
    Katherine Caldwell

    Title: PhD: visiting assistant Professor Oberlin University Neurosciences Department
    Email: katherine.alex@case.edu
    Research: Alex KD, Yavanian GJ, McFarlane HG, Pluto CP, Pehek EA.Modulation of dopamine release by striatal 5-HT2C receptors.Synapse. 2005 Mar 15;55(4):242-51.Previous work has demonstrated that dopamine (DA) transmission is regulated by serotonin-2C (5-HT2C) receptors but the site(s) in the brain where these receptors are localized is not known. The present work utilized in vivo microdialysis to investigate the modulation of DA release by 5-HT2C receptors localized in the nerve terminal regions of the mesocortical and nigrostriatal DA pathways. Microdialysis probes implanted in the striatum or the prefrontal cortex (PFC) measured dialysate DA concentrations, while the selective 5-HT2B/2C inverse agonist SB 206553 was given locally by reverse dialysis into these terminal regions.

  • noavatar
    Marty Farrel

    Title: PhD: Postdoctoral Fellow, Patrick Sullivan Lab, UNC Genetics
    Email: martilias_farrell@med.unc.edu

  • avatar
    Sarah Rogan

    Title: PhD Conferred 2011; currently finishing clinical rotations at UNC Chapel Hill as part of Medical Scientist Training Program
    Email: sarah_rogan@med.unc.edu
    Hometown: Arlington, VA
    Research: DREADD mouse project
    Other Interests: Traveling, food and wine, soccer

  • avatar
    Vincent Setola

    Title: PhD: Research Assistant Professor, West Virginia University, Department of Physiology and Pharmacology
    Email: vsetola@gmail.com
    Hometown: Washington, DC
    Research: Interactions of drugs with serotonin 5-HT2B receptors and the implications for cardiopulmonary toxicity; serotonin receptor ligand structure-activity studies
    Future Research: GPCR structure-function; GPCR regulation; GPCR signal transduction
    Other Interests: Music, Cooking, Oenophilia

  • avatar
    Zach Schools

    Title: Graduate Student
    Email: zschools@email.unc.edu

  • avatar
    Zong-Qi Xia

    Title: MD, PhD: Assistant Professor, Department of Neurology, Harvard Medical School
    Email: zxx6@case.edu


Collaborators

  • avatar
    Martin Snider

    Title: Associate Professor
    Email: martin.snider@cwru.edu

  • noavatar
    Myung Lee

    Title: Research Associate in Biochemistry

  • avatar
    Paul Ernsberger

    Title: Associate Professor
    Email: pre@case.edu

  • avatar
    Subramaniam Sanker

    Title: Research Associate in Biochemistry
    Email: subramaniam.sanker@case.edu


Post-Docs

  • noavatar
    Blaine Armbruster

    Title: Product Manager - GPCR Drug Discovery Upstate|Chemicon|Linco now part of Millipore Corporation
    Email: blaine_armbruster@millipore.com

  • noavatar
    David Wald

    Title: Assistant Professor Pathology, Case Western Reserve University Medical School

  • avatar
    Dipendra Aryal

    Email: dipendra.aryal@med.unc.edu

  • avatar
    Eyal Vardy

    Title: Senior Scientist Merck Pharmaceuticals
    Email: evardy@gmail.com

  • avatar
    Flori Sassano

    Email: msassano@unc.edu

  • avatar
    Hu Zhu

    Title: Research Scientist, Biology
    Email: hu.zhu@NIH.gov
    Hometown: Jiangsu province, P.R. China
    Research: RNA editing
    Future Research: National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS)

  • avatar
    Hyeong-Min Lee

    Title: Postdoc in Ben Philpot's lab
    Email: hyeong-min_lee@med.unc.edu
    Hometown: Seoul, Korea
    Research: Drug screening against Rett Syndrome
    Future Research: 5129 Neuroscience Research Building

  • noavatar
    John Allen

    Title: Assistant Professor University of Texas Medical Branch, Department of Pharmacology, Galveston, TX
    Email: joaallen@utmb.edu
    Hometown: Lincoln, Nebraska
    Research: In vivo regulation of 5-HT2A receptor signaling and trafficking by scaffolding proteins (caveolins and PSD95)

  • avatar
    Kerry Ann O'Connor

    Title: Assistant Scientific Director, Case Center for Imaging Research at Case Western Reserve University
    Email: Kerry.Grimberg@uhhospitals.org
    Hometown: Wantagh, NY

  • noavatar
    Kurt Kristiansen

    Title: PhD Associate Professor Department of Pharmacology University of Tromso, Norway

  • noavatar
    Marilyn Davies

    Title: Assistant Professor, Health & Community Systems, School of Nursing, Univ. of Pittsburgh
    Email: daviesm@pitt.edu

  • avatar
    Niels Jensen

    Title: Director R&D THC Pharm GmbHD-60599, Frankfurt am Main, Germany
    Email: njensen@unc.edu
    Hometown: Hamburg, Germany
    Research: Functional selectivity at serotonin type-2 receptors
    Future Research: Combining pharmacological, biochemical, chemical, and computational methods to study serotonin type-2 receptors

  • avatar
    Patrick Giguere

    Title: Assistant Professor
    Email: patrick.giguere@uottawa.ca
    Hometown: Ottawa, ONK1H 8M5
    Research: Dept. of Biochemistry, Microbiology and Immunology
    Other Interests: (613) 562-5800 x8402

  • avatar
    Prem Yadav

    Title: Senior Scientist, Central Drug Research Institute/CSIR, Lucknow,UP-226001, INDIA
    Email: yadav@email.unc.edu
    Hometown: Ambedkar Nagar,Uttar Pradesh, India
    Research: GPCR mediated modulation of neuronal plasticity in development of opioid tolereance, Treatment stratgeis of neuronal inflammation and neuropathic pain neuro-autoimmune diseases
    Other Interests: Play tennis, cricket and reading science fiction.

  • noavatar
    Samarpan Majumder

    Title: Senior Research Associate
    Email: samarpan_majumder@med.unc.edu
    Hometown: Calcutta, India
    Research: Screening compounds against GABA A receptor which is implicated in number of diseases viz. insomnia, depression, anxiety, seizure, schizophrenia and many more.
    Other Interests: Visiting new places and trying to get an idea about the local people- their history, culture, socio-economic condition.

  • noavatar
    Shuyun Dong

    Title: Research Assistant Professor, Department of Pharmaceutics & Pharmaceutical Chemistry, University of Utah
    Email: shuyun.dong@pharm.utah.edu

  • avatar
    Tim Vortherms

    Title: PhD: Senior Scientist, Abbot Labs
    Email: timothy.vortherms@abbott.com

  • noavatar
    Ying Pei

    Title: Postdoctoral research scientist - Seattle Biomedical Research Institute
    Email: peiying1980@gmail.com


Visiting Scientists

  • noavatar
    Brian Shoichet

    Title: Professor UCSF
    Research: Sabbatical (2011-12)

  • noavatar
    Joan Heller Brown

    Title: Chair Pharmacology UCSD
    Research: Sabbatical (2014)

  • noavatar
    Seiji Sato

    Title: Asubio Pharmacy Co
    Email: sato.seiji.gn@asubio.co.jp
    Research: Sabbatical (2014-2016)

  • noavatar
    Yusuke Goto

    Title: DaiNippon Sumitomo
    Research: Sabbatical (2012-2014)